Open brief Bio-initiative group aan Interphone onderzoekers.

maandag, 08 december 2008 - Categorie: Berichten Internationaal

In onderstaande open brief aan de leidinggevende epidemiologen van het Interphone onderzoek vragen de leden van de Bio-Initiative group om openbaarmaking van de resultaten per land. Door onenigheid onder de onderzoekers over de interpretatie van de resultaten is een algehele publicatie tot nog toe achterwege gebleven.

Zie in dit verband ook: Artikelen/3117 .


Bron: Micronews.com

December 3, 2008

To: Principal Investigators of Interphone Study Groups
Australia Dr Bruce Armstrong brucea@health.usyd.edu.au
Dr Graham Giles Graham.Giles@cancervic.org.au
New Zealand Dr Alistair Woodward a.woodward@aukland.ac.nz
Israel, Dr. Siegal Sadetzki siegals@gertner.health.gov.il
Italy Dr Susanna Lagorio susanna.lagorio@iss.it
Canada Dr Daniel Krewski dkrewski@uottawa.ca
Dr Jack Siemiatycki j.siemiatycki@umontreal.ca

We understand that each of you has participated in the Interphone Study Group on various
aspects (brain tumors, acoustic neurinoma, parotid gland tumors) and cell phone use, and that
your study results remain unpublished. After four years, results have been published from
eight different countries but some results remain unpublished (see Exhibit 1).
We ask for your cooperation in publishing your study results in the very near future. We have
been in recent contact with Dr. Elizabeth Cardis. She has provided contact information for
each of you so we can directly obtain these results through your publication of them in the
peer-reviewed literature.
This will enable scientists and other experts not directly involved in the Interphone studies to
get the whole pattern of results without further delay. Thank you for your kind support.

With best personal regards,

The BioInitiative Working Group by:
Martin Blank, PhD mb32@columbia.edu
Michael Kundi, PhD michael.kundi@meduniwien.ac.at
Carl Blackman, PhD cfb1@bellsouth.net
Cindy Sage, MA sage@silcom.com
David Carpenter, MD carpent@uamail.albany.edu
David Gee  avid.Gee@eea.europa.eu">David.Gee@eea.europa.eu
Lennart Hardell, MD, PhD lennart.hardell@orebroll.se
Olle Johansson, PhD  lle.johansson@ki.se">olle.johansson@ki.se
Henry Lai, PhD hlai@u.washington.edu
Kjell Hansson Mild, PhD kjell.hansson.mild@radfys.umu.se
Eugene Sobel, PhD sobel55@earthlink.net
cc. Professor Elisabeth Cardis ecardis@creal.cat

Exhibit 1
Interphone studies from 13 different countries.

No = results have not been published, Yes = results have been published
Country Glioma Acoustic neuroma Meningioma

Australia No No No
Canada No No No
Japan Yes Yes Yes
New Zealand No No No
Israel No No No
Italy No No No
France Yes Yes Yes
Germany Yes Yes Yes
UK Yes Yes Yes
Denmark Yes Yes Yes
Finland Yes Yes Yes
Norway Yes Yes Yes
Sweden Yes Yes Yes

References:

S. Lönn, A. Ahlbom, P. Hall, M. Feychting, Long-term mobile phone use and brain tumor
risk, Am. J. Epidemiol. 161 (2005) 526-535. Sweden
H. Christensen, J. Schüz, M. Kosteljanetz, H. Poulsen, J. Boice Jr, J. McLaughlin, et al,
Cellular telephones and risk for brain tumors: a population-based, incident case-control study,
Neurology 64 (2005) 1189-1195. Denmark
S. Hepworth, M. Schoemaker, K. Muir, A. Swerdlow, MJA. van Tongeren, PA. McKinney,
Mobile phone use and risk of glioma in adults: case-control study, BMJ 332 (2006) 883-887.
UK
J. Schüz, E. Böhler, G. Berg, B. Schlehofer, I. Hettinger, K. Schlaefer, et al., Cellular phones,
cordless phones, and the risks of glioma and meningioma (Interphone Study Group,
Germany), Am. J. Epidemiol. 163 (2006) 512-520.
A. Lahkola, A. Auvinen, J. Raitanen, M. Schoemaker, H. Christensen, M. Feychting, et al,
Mobile phone use and risk of glioma in 5 North European countries, Int. J. Cancer 120 (2007)
1769-1775. Denmark, Finland, Norway, Sweden, UK
M. Hours, M. Bernard, L. Montestrucq, M. Arslan, A. Bergeret, I. Deltour, et al, Cell Phones
and Risk of brain and acoustic nerve tumours: the French INTERPHONE case-control study,
Rev. Epidemiol. Sante Publique 55 (2007) 321-332. France
L. Klaeboe, K. Blaasaas, T. Tynes, Use of mobile phones in Norway and risk of intracranial
tumours, Eur. J. Cancer Prev. 16 (2007) 158-164.
S. Lönn, A. Ahlbom, P. Hall, M. Feychting, Mobile phone use and the risk of acoustic
neuroma, Epidemiology 15 (2004) 653-659. Sweden
H. Christensen, J Schüz, M. Kosteljanetz, H. Poulsen, J. Thomsen, C. Johansen, Cellular
telephone use and risk of acoustic neuroma, Am. J. Epidemiol. 159 (2004) 277-283. Denmark
M. Schoemaker, A. Swerdlow, A. Ahlbom, A. Auvinen, K. Blaasaas, E. Cardis, et al, Mobile
phone use and risk of acoustic neuroma: results of the Interphone case-control study in five
North European countries, Br. J. Cancer 93 (2005) 842-848. Denmark, Finland, Norway,
Sweden, UK
T. Takebayashi, S. Akiba, Y. Kikuchi, M. Taki, K. Wake, S. Watanabe, et al, Mobile phone
use and acoustic neuroma risk in Japan, Occup. Environ. Med. 63 (2006) 802-807.
B. Schlehofer, K. Schlaefer, M. Blettner, G. Berg, E. Böhler, I. Hettinger et al, Environmental
risk factors for sporadic acoustic neuroma (Interphone Study Group, Germany), Eur. J.
Cancer 43 (2007) 1741-1747.

Voor het origineel zie:
http://www.microwavenews.com/docs/BI.Interphone.pdf



Lees verder in de categorie Berichten Internationaal | Terug naar homepage | Lees de introductie