StopUMTS Logo
how to get rid of moles 
Zoeken
   
Voorlichting
21/09/17EHS en toch een smartphon
01/09/17WiFi vrije scholen (kaart
Artikelen
20/09/17IoT 5
20/09/17Harmonische vervorming
20/09/17Vitamin B17: The Greatest
19/09/17Burn-out (toename)
19/09/17Schildklierkanker, toenam
18/09/17What science knows about
Berichten Nederland
28/09/17Nieuw boek: DE DRAADLOZE
21/09/17GGD Utrecht: een nieuw ge
20/09/17Ruimte in de ether voor 5
20/09/17De Impact-Academy en onze
18/09/17Vereniging tegen de Kwakz
Berichten België
01/07/17Verdubbeling burn-out in
26/06/17Voorstel van resolutie vo
Berichten Internationaal
21/09/17USA: Monterey County Proc
20/09/17USA: nieuwe 5G ellende: D
19/09/17USA: De jongeren van nu g
19/09/17USA: 5G opponents launch
Ervaringen | Appellen/oproepen
18/09/17WiFi 2,4 GHz en 5 GHz; ee
18/09/17''Why I Don't Have a Mobi
14/09/173G naar 4G
Onderzoeken
20/09/17National Toxicology Progr
08/09/17Anxiety-like behavioural
07/09/17The mere presence of your
Veel gestelde vragen
13/05/17Vakantie? Witte zo
10/07/16Zeven veel gestelde vrage
Juridische informatie
19/09/17USA situatie: WOZ waarded
10/09/17Rechter: Staat moet lucht
31/08/17InPower Movement: Early r
Oproepen
29/11/17Raadsmarkt ZENDMASTEN &
11/11/17Cursus ‘Straling meten
29/09/17EHS regionale contactdage
Folders
10/06/17Brochures, folders, websi
29/04/16USA: Meer dan 50 tips voo
Briefwisselingen | Archief: 2008, 2005
10/07/17Brief naar de gemeente C.
14/06/17Mail naar 'De Monitor' na
Illustraties
 Algemeen
 Fotoalbum zendmasten
 Wetenschappelijke illustraties
Carsickness complaints: Family is 'miserable,' company aware of concerns    
Ga naar overzicht berichten in: Artikelen

Carsickness complaints: Family is 'miserable,' company aware of concerns
donderdag, 17 november 2016 - Dossier: Algemeen


Bron: www.wzzm13.com/mb/news/investigations/13-on-your-side/watchdog/are-gm-suvs-making-people-sick/350530119
10 nov. 2016


Problems started back in November 2014 when Barb Francis and her husband paid just more $60,000 for a new 2015 Suburban at DeNooyer Chevrolet in Holland.

HOLLAND, MICH. - There's been no recall, but drivers of several large SUV's say their GM vehicles are making them sick.

The complaints have been acknowledged by the automaker -- a Holland-area family says there is no solution to the problem. That family contacted WZZM 13 On Your Side for help.

''I had vertigo, nausea, migraine, the whole way down, the whole way back from Florida…part of it would be a constant pressure on your ears… it's just miserable”, says Barb Francis.

It all started back in November 2014 when she and her husband paid just more $60,000 for a new 2015 Suburban at DeNooyer Chevrolet in Holland.

“We love the car; we still love the car,'' Francis said. ''But when you get in, it's like your ears start to hurt after a while.''

The couple says it got worse after they took their grandchildren on a trip to Florida. Francis and her granddaughter got sick.

''If she's not in that suburban, she doesn’t get sick,'' Francis said.
They brushed it off at first but the next time they went on a long trip, her husband got sick.

''And he does not get sick, does not have that kind of thing,'' Francis said. ''He had vertigo, nausea, headaches. This is weird.''

It was then that the Francis' searched the words ''GM SUV making me sick.''  Several news articles popped up.

13 On Your Side discovered numerous complaints to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration in both 2015 and 2016. They included remarks like “Severe Headaches,'' ''Experiencing pressure in my ears''  and ''makes me nauseous and dizzy.''

WZZM 13 Watchdog reporter Sarah Sell and investigative producer Emma Nicolas took the Suburban for a test drive. With cameras inside to capture all the details, a microphone picked up what many described as that buffeting noise, almost like a window is partly rolled down.

''Midway through I started to get a pressure headache,'' Nicolas said. ''I didn't have anything with my ears. My ears weren't bugging me. It was my head.''
The Francis’ have taken the suburban back to DeNooyer, and they made several attempts to fix it.

''They did the headliner, they changed the noise cancelling system, they drove it for 37 days, and put 720 miles on it,'' Francis said. ''There is major money into this and it's still not fixed.''

Sales manager Dominique DeNooyer says they tried to work with the Francis’ on a solution.

''It puts us in the middle because we value the customer and our partnership with the manufacturer,'' he said. ''Our hands are tied.''

DeNooyer says the dealership did offer the Francis’ a similar vehicle, but they declined. Francis and her husband are paying more than $700 a month for the vehicle. At this point, they just want out of the lease.

Denooyer says it's not that simple: “So, the lien is with the bank and as far as absolving the lease, we don't have the ability because we don't own that contract.''

The Francis have now hired a lemon law attorney. Several months later, they are still in negotiations. GM  declined to do an interview and sent us this statement:

''GM is aware of customers' concerns regarding a buffeting noise in certain previous model year full-size GM utility vehicles. GM does not believe this is a safety issue.'' The company went on to say, “If someone has a similar problem, they should take it to their GM dealer for potential repair under warranty.”

''We just want to be done with it. Take it back. Nobody wants to drive it. We're not driving it,'' Francis said. With the help of their attorney, they are working with GM on a settlement to buy back the vehicle. In the meantime, they continue making lease payments and the Suburban sits in the driveway.

GM will not say whether the problem has been fixed in later models.

De problemen zouden wel eens veroorzaakt kunnen worden door de EMV in de auto. Er wordt bij nieuwere modellen steeds meer elektronica toegevoegd en van bijv. de Tesla is al bekend dat dat klachten kan veroorzaken.


Ga terug naar het hoofdmenu
Afdrukken | Vragen | RSS | Disclaimer